"Practice Level Hard"

The boys aren’t much into sports as the viable options here are pretty limited. That’s OK with me as I struggle to get out of bed most mornings after enduring decades of sports injuries to legs, ankles, knees, neck, back, etc…muscles, ligaments, tendons, bones…you name it…I’ve probably injured it. I’m pretty creaky for my age and I don’t wish this on my kids for their middle age years on up.

This weekend both boys suddenly regained an interest in playing catch. I don’t have a glove but found I can still throw and catch without one since neither of the boys throws very hard. For one stretch I was just throwing to Cameron while Dayton was tossing a rubber baseball to himself. At one point Dayton quietly decided I should catch one and he threw the ball to me while I was catching a ball from Cameron…in the other direction. Dayton’s ball hit the artery in my neck dead-on and I wondered if I was going to survive the hit. Fortunately, nothing exploded and after a few seconds on my knees I determined that other than a bruise I’d probably be fine.

Later I went out again to play catch, this time with just Dayton. As a beginner he struggles to catch the ball. He caught maybe 2 or 3 balls in 20 minutes.

At the outset I told him, “You just need to practice a lot.”

He replied, “I’m on ‘Practice Level Hard.'”

OK boys…off the computer games…it’s time to ruin your middle age health!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to "Practice Level Hard"

  1. Ouch! The joys of parenting…

    Like

Leave a Reply

