“A Day Without Chili, Is Like a Day Without Sun”

Hope everyone has a sunny day today!

We’re up and at ’em this morning ready for our first day of our area homeschool co-op. Should be a fun day and I’m looking forward to teaching POETRY! Woo-hoo! Now all I have to do is understand it myself and we’ll be fine!

I think I can handle 4th and 5th grade poetry though…it’s fun. We’ll be using “Love that Dog” by Sharon Creech to introduce the topic. Sweet little book. Be sure to read it. Too bad it wasn’t around when I learned a little poetry in elementary school.

The first ever U.S. Children’s Poetry Laureate (Jack Prelutsky) has this to say concerning whether he always liked poetry…I love his answer:

Did you always like poetry?
No, in fact there was a time when I couldn’t stand the stuff. In grade school, I had a teacher who left me with the impression that poetry was the literary equivalent of liver. I was told that it was good for me, but I wasn’t convinced. When I rediscovered poetry in my twenties, I decided I would write about things that kids really cared about, and that I would make poetry delightful.

So, there you have it…chili, sun, dog, poetry, love and liver. Let’s do it!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to

  1. dbecker says:

    Sounds like a fun time! Hope the co-op goes well for you all. We had the chance to be a part of one for one semester when we lived in South Carolina…great encouragement for kids and parents alike!

    Like

  2. I think I have yet to meet a kid who didn’t like Where the Sidewalk Ends. 🙂 Pretty interesting stuff!

    Like

  3. I had the exact same feeling about poetry until I read Wendell Berry. Why do they have to make poetry so painful for kids? Our kids like “The Jumblies and Other Nonsense Verse by Edward Lear”. It is exactly what the title says – nonsense verse – but it rolls off the tongue so easily and the kids love it. Josie especially will recite it just for fun.

    Like

Leave a Reply

