There Comes A Day

Having worked and played on computers for over 20 years (hard to believe), I know from years of experience in using Microsoft Windows, that there usually comes a time when something will go wrong and badly so.

For my 18 month old HP laptop, that day came yesterday. I suppose I should be grateful that recovering from a bad BIOS update (thanks to HP) is much easier than it was in years past. In fact, other than staying up until nearly 5 a.m. trying to get the large part of the recovery and downloading of countless Windows updates taken care of, it wasn’t nearly as bad as I expected.

That’s not to say I’m happy that I lost a night of sleep (I still got about 4 hours of sleep), for I am not happy about it. That’s not to say it was a simple procedure. It wasn’t. I also ended up spending a few hours today trying to begin putting the pieces back together. I’ve got hours to go, but most of the reinstalls can wait until I really need the programs.

I’ve come to the conclusion after our wonderful experience with the iMac we bought last September, that the extra cost for Apple’s Mac computers are well worth it when put into perspective of the savings provided in maintenance and repair time, the prevention of endless frustration, and hours of lost sleep. So far I have spent less than 1 hour maintaining our iMac in the past 6 months. All this just to say that when it’s time to buy the next laptop, Macbook will be the order. I need my time and my sleep. Good-night! (Sweet dreams Bill Gates)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

