Animals Exit

Just another silly installment of our nativity scene developments. Dayton apparently enjoys rearranging the scene on a regular basis. I presume it’s Dayton and I presume he doesn’t like to be noticed doing it. I’ve never seen him or anyone else doing it. Maybe Bethie likes playing with them. I dunno…I don’t think so.

So…here’s the latest:

Since the shepherd was already spotted having left the manger scene, it now appears that the angel was pleading with him to lead the animals out of the scene. I think from what was overheard before and adding that to today’s latest sound bite…something about “a small boy,” and maybe something about “beating” or maybe it was “bleating.” Whatever was said, the cattle were in the way of a new guest yet to come and no doubt the smell was a bit overpowering.

Do you hear what I hear? No? Oh…I thought I heard something like “pa rum pum pum pum.” I must be hearing things. Never mind.

Nevertheless, the shepherd apparently thought that there was no time like the present for the baby Messiah to get used to smelly animals and people (like himself as a shepherd), since He’ll be dealing with them for the next couple thousand years…well…the people that is. Best of intentions I’m sure, but the angel didn’t buy it. Nonetheless, we’re grateful for the effort.

After all as it reads in Isaiah 53:6, “All we like sheep have gone astray; we have turned every one to his own way; and the LORD hath laid on him the iniquity of us all.” Sheep are some of the stinkiest animals when they’re left to the field…and we’ve all been there. You know what I’m talking about.

Odd thing here…there appear to be two sheep, one cow and a female kudu in this animal set. Not sure how the kudu got in there but maybe it arrived with the magi. Sure didn’t come from Isaiah…”All we like kudu?!?” I don’t think so.

stay tuned for further nativity scene shenanigans…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Animals Exit

Leave a Reply

