Community Center Graduation

May 1st marked the end of this semester’s classes at the community center here in San Juan del Rio. I had a small part in it this semester as I taught a Saturday ESL/Conversational English class. I had difficulty deciding whether the title of conversational English really fit the class or not. I ended up teaching a lot more grammar than conversation. I’m self-evaluating the classes and thinking about how to improve this for next semester. Due to our September home assignment in western USA, I’ll be looking at resuming a class in October some time if that works out. I definitely need to make some changes but am not sure what the approach will be.

One thing we REALLY lack here in this region is someone with any ESL/TESOL proficiency who could direct our ESL efforts. We’re making something happen but I think we could do this with greater effectiveness and impact with someone who could direct and guide our efforts. Feel free to pray for God to provide someone who would be the right fit in that capacity. I’ve given it some thought myself to study this content but it would likely take a minimum of one year of study and I’m not sure we’re really in a good position to take such a leave for that purpose right now. Our primary ministry is still necessary and we know God is using us in our educational ministry. So…we’ll pray. I hope you’ll pray too.

This semester there were basic computation classes which had a number of children as students, guitar classes, musical voice classes, and four different English classes. Tim (who is directing the programs) is probably going to introduce a basketball class soon. There look to be about 8 work teams coming this summer. I don’t recall us ever having more than about 4 or 5 in one summer. We’ll be very busy here in San Juan del Rio. There won’t be much time for courses of any kind but some of our teams will be teaching some kids’ English classes or perhaps for adults too. I’m not sure of all the plans and ideas.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

