RIP Mystery Insect

I left the lid off of the jar the evening I found and posted about this little guy.  I wasn’t sure it could get out, but apparently, it managed.  Found it on the patio upside-down.  It was only “mostly dead,” but it appeared that Peanut may have given it a bite (on the top side).  She doesn’t like flying things and routinely snatches wasps and bees out of their low buzzing orbit.  Regardless, I had no Miracle Max pills to force feed it and if I had, I doubt I would have administered it anyway.

According to the one family that responded via Facebook, this appears to have been a type of Mydas Fly.  It’s the largest type of fly in the world.  It’s bigger than a 10 peso coin (on the left) which is about the size of a silver half-dollar, if anyone out there is old enough to remember those.  Not that you’d have to be terribly old to remember them.  Just old like me.

Just thought I’d follow-up for the enquiring minds out there who might have always wondered what happened to our mystery insect.  Now ya know.  (I forgot to “bury” it.  I think it’s still doing a motionless backstroke on the patio…unless Peanut ate it.  Crazy dog.)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

