Ever Had a Day Like This? (among selected follies)

Not hard to admit…I’ve had a few of these kinds of days.  I imagine you have too!

I just noticed it has been over 2 weeks since the last blog post.  We’re going to lose our faithful following if I don’t get with it and post something…anything!

As we’ve been vegetating over the holidays and then trying to dig ourselves out of a three month lull in formal schooling, we’ve been busy trying to get the boys back into school routine.  Who am I kidding?  We’ve been trying to get US (the parents, teachers, and presumed responsible adults!) back into school routine.  I think we’re getting there, but we have had a few flailing jumps in the process.

Dayton has apparently forgotten what he learned in the first three years of school in his “Explode the Code” grammar/phonics course.  I discovered a couple days ago that he no longer remembered what a “short vowel sound” was.  As we worked through a grade 5 grammar lesson on comparatives and superlatives we came across the comparative word “hotter.”  In explaining the irregularity of the spelling, I mentioned that the word has the “short ‘o’ sound” and asked him what that sound was.  He looked befuddled.  “I don’t know,” he said.  So, I stated the obvious, “ah” sound to him.  Then I just happened to follow that up with “So ‘hotter’ has the ‘short o sound’ as opposed to the ‘long o sound,’ which is what?”  With a pained, thoughtful look he finally replied quizzically, “ahhhhhhhhh?”

We took about a 10 minute break.  I couldn’t stop laughing.  OK…some days you’re the ledge, and some days you’re the cat.  Keep jumping into life and have a good laugh while you’re at it!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Ever Had a Day Like This? (among selected follies)

  1. K & E says:

    I had to get out my copy of "101 uses for a dead cat" after that video!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

