A Fierce Benediction

Our Sunday house church finished our “brief” study of Philippians today.  I was to simply cover chapter 4 verses 8 to 23.  We did “cover” it today, but I have to admit, I really couldn’t get past verse 8.  This surprised me.

Philippians 4:8 is what I would call a “well-known” verse.  I’ve seen it on posters and bookmarks and written on pretty things.  It wasn’t until I began studying each word of this verse that I realized there was a profound depth and meaning that I never knew was there.

What started in my mind as a lovely benediction by the Apostle Paul, with an imagined smile and wave of a robed hand, and a sweet blessing and invitation to meditation and thinking about “positive things,” ended up as a fierce military command that basically blew my “benediction ship” out of the water.  There is nothing passive in this verse and nothing held back.

Our minds are continually in a state of warfare and this verse is a directive for how to fight the “good fight” and how to win.  Continual measuring of our thoughts against the measure of God’s perfection (in every way) and throwing out that which doesn’t measure up is the key to living a godly life.   Our thoughts control our actions.  If we would think perfectly, we would also live perfectly.

Philippians 4:8 stormed the beaches of our minds and hearts today.  It was an awesome display of God’s power through His Word.  The spiritual D-Day for our minds and hearts begins here.  Study this passage…and keep your head down!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

