The Corn is Back!

No, not my jokes…those never left.  :-)  I’m eating corn again for the first time in months.

Yes, tortillas, tostadas, pop corn, coffee creamer, (oh yes, coffee is back too!), pozole, tamales (haven’t gotten to this one yet), Coca-Cola and many other types of drinks (with fructose or corn syrup), many salad dressings (although I now prefer salsa alternative over the dressings anyway), various candies (haven’t gotten to these either and am not a big candy eater anyway), and grits!  (and probably lots of other things I haven’t mentioned)

Why am I eating corn now?  Well, we’ve been reading and thinking and trying to come up with the best course of attack for this digestion problem.  We’re pretty sure about gluten-intolerance but it will be months before we’re more convinced.  We’ve also read and heard from those who are gluten-intolerant that lactose intolerance is common among those who can’t eat gluten.  So, I’ve removed lactose from my diet as well.  At this point, that pretty much means removing cheese from my diet since I hardly drink milk, and most ice creams contain corn (and I was avoiding corn), and we’re not a fan of the cottage cheese here.

So, getting off the lactose seemed to be helping so we were wondering if perhaps the theory that corn was a problem was a faulty conclusion.  That based on the fact that while eating corn (and not feeling well afterward), I was also often eating gluten and lactose.

So, last Friday I dove into eating corn with some tortillas, tostadas, pozole, and Coke.  I felt no ill effects over the following days so we’ve decided that the other causes for my problems were possibly making the digestion of corn (especially pop corn) more difficult.  I may have been feeling ill from the corn, but not because of the corn itself but the digestion system was too damaged to handle the corn.

I probably will take it easy on the pop corn as it seems a bit more difficult to digest, but I’ll eat a little as I’ve already done.

No, I don’t suddenly feel great, but for the most part, since leaving off lactose, I haven’t felt much worse most of the time, and since adding corn, I haven’t noticed much difference either.  With the gluten issue, it may take months before I do feel better, but we’re prepared for that, and there is rejoicing about the corn!  Praise God for this development!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

