A Flowery Day

Last Sunday was Mother’s Day in the USA. It was not Mother’s Day in Mexico.  Every day is Mother’s Day in Mexico, of course!  No, actually Mother’s Day is always on May 10th in Mexico.  The occasion doesn’t float by date to a particular Sunday or other day of the week as a couple of our American holidays do.

I decided that we should provide a couple of roses to each of our mothers in our Sunday house church.  So, I went early to the local flower shop to find some flowers.

Unfortunately, due to it being just 2 days after Mother’s Day, they really were picked over.  So, I went into the market and in the flower aisle (just down from where you can see and purchase heads of cows and pigs and other animal parts more disgusting than that), I found one flower stall with some roses.

I had to pick through them to find the best ones, but I got enough for each mother to receive a red rose and a white or pink rose.  I never know just who will show up for church meeting so I decided that I should probably be sure to have enough for every mother who could possibly show up, so I purchased 7 pairs of roses.  Cost me all of about $12.  Can’t really complain!

It turned out that besides Bethie, only 2 other mothers showed up.  On Monday, we gave one set to the lady who comes and cleans our house for a few hours each week.  As for the leftovers, Bethie enjoyed all those nice roses I got her!

1-IMG_2441

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Flowery Day

  1. Jon Dewald says:

    We’ll take ’em however we can get them. jd

    Like

Leave a Reply

