Tacos al SJR

We’ve always struggled with our tacos here in San Juan del Rio.  Not because there aren’t any.  It’s because, we’ve never found any good ones.  They really don’t taste good here.  Down the road in Querétaro, there are some wonderful tacos to be found, but here they just are bleh.

I asked one of my English students a few days ago for a recommendation on a good taco place here in SJR.  He hemmed and hawed and had a really hard time giving me any suggestions…finally he said he had one for me and proceeded to draw me a map.  I understand the location.  I asked him, so they have good tacos?  Tacos al pastor?  He replied, “Well, they don’t really have tacos but good Mexican food, like enchiladas, etc.”  Even his best taco stand recommendation doesn’t serve tacos!  lol

So, Cameron and I drove to the location on the map my student drew for me.  There was nothing there!  We drove the entire 8 block street and there were no restaurants visible.  So, who knows.

The good news is there is a new taco place in town.  Cameron and I tried it out this evening.  It was GOOD!  Really good!  We are so happy!  The two of us ate until we were full…he had 5 tacos al pastor (pork) and I had a plate of bistec con queso (chips of beef and melted cheese).  I couldn’t eat all of mine and Cameron helped me eat a couple of tacos off my plate after he had inhaled his tacos.  We both had a Coke (in the glass bottle).  Total was $100 pesos, plus a tip of $10 pesos.  $110 is about $9 USD.  Can’t really beat that!

So, the true test is how we’ll feel tonight and then tomorrow, but if we don’t suffer any ill effects, I think we’ve found our new taco place and the first one in SJR that we’ve ever liked!

I’ve really decided that we just can’t go back to Taquissimo (which I’ve dubbed “Taqueasymás” due to the queasy feeling I always get after eating there.

Come for a visit.  We have tacos!

1-IMG_2787

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Tacos al SJR

  1. maryjplm says:

    Test…

    Sent from my iPad

    Like

Leave a Reply

