Why?

During our epic 14 hour, 800 mile drive today from DeLand, FL to Alexandria, LA, we skimmed a lot of radio stations.  This morning I remember hearing the beginning of one sermon from a familiar radio voice asking a rhetorical question: Is it OK to ask God “Why?”  His answer was that there are plenty of biblical examples of people asking God “Why?” including Jesus himself, “Why have You forsaken me?”

The preacher was saying that it is OK to ask God, “Why?”  I sort of left the sermon somewhere around there because my mind took off in contemplation of this idea.

This evening when we finally checked into a hotel for the night, we were joined in the elevator by a member of the hotel staff.  Since we hadn’t planned our stay here, I wasn’t sure how far we were from our destination (i.e. Dallas).  I asked the young gal how long the drive to Dallas would be from here.  She paused and replied, “Well, it’s 4.5 hours to Houston.”

I didn’t know whether to laugh or just what to say!  I guess the connection she was making is that both Houston and Dallas are large cities located in the state of Texas and you can drive to both of them from here.  Other than that I’m not quite sure exactly how the distance to a city located in nearly the opposite direction from our current location to get to Houston would be helpful in ascertaining the distance to Dallas!

I managed to say, “Oh, well it must be about the same to Dallas then.”  Of course, that makes about as much sense as her reply, but I didn’t want her to feel alone with offering such a useless answer to the question.

Perhaps she would have been better off simply saying, “I don’t know.”

“I don’t know.”  That is often a good answer and sometimes it’s an answer we don’t want to give.  Maybe we’ll appear dumb or ignorant for not knowing the answer.  Of course, offering an ignorant answer might have the same effect.  But the truth is, we don’t know all the answers to all the questions in life.  We really and simply don’t know.

This ties in to the thought that struck me with that sermon on the radio this morning.  If we were to ask God why about something, anything, even everything, and if He were to audibly answer every “why” question we ever asked, we would never, ever hear Him reply, “I don’t know.”  He does know why.  Every time with everything.

Of course, He may not tell us the answer to that for everything, but knowing that He knows the answer, is really good enough.  I trust Him.  I know He knows and I know Him and He knows me.  And I know that He will never leave me nor forsake me.  I’m glad that’s a question I’ve never had to ask…especially while hanging on a cross for the sins of the whole world.

Putting it that way…why was it I was asking why again?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

