The Chase

I had an errand to run downtown this evening.  Deciding I needed the exercise, I walked.  It’s not far…maybe a mile and a half round trip.  I took the camera that hangs from my belt for “just in case moments.”  I’ve used it many times to capture an image of something unusual or simply usual.

On my way back I realized the sun was setting.  I could see a bit of the mix of colors and clouds and was hoping to find an opening between streets that would give me a good shot.  Never did come across a spot to get a picture.  I kept walking.

Stopped in for some evening sweet breads.  That’s a common evening dinner item in Mexico.  We like the breads from Super Q, a nearby convenience store.  That’s maybe 8 blocks from our house.  With bag of breads in hand, I walked on, rounded a familiar corner (well, pretty much every downtown corner in San Juan is familiar at this point), and about 30 feet down that street I heard it.

BAM!

What was that?!?

I turned around.  Saw nothing.  The often busy street that I had been on a few moments before was quiet, but I couldn’t really see much of that street due to a wall on my right and a building on my left that both run to the corner.  So, I took some steps back in that direction just to see if there was something to see.

Then I heard an engine revving and a scraping sound.  A Jeep passed by with sparks flying from underneath.  Something was dragging from the area of the front suspension.  Odd.  About a second later, another engine revved by.  An orange taxi cab.  He passed and as he did, I notice his trunk was completely smashed in.

Ahhh…I got it.  The Jeep rear-ended the taxi and the driver made a quick decision to drive around the taxi and make a run for it.  I saw the Jeep turn left at the next corner.  There’s only one way out from there.  I turned back toward the direction I had been walking expecting to see these two flying by at the end of this street as they circled around toward the edge of town.

I walked and walked…probably about a minute.  Nothing.  It should have taken about 30 seconds at most.  They must have stopped.  Nope.  There goes the Jeep, still dragging whatever it was, still sparking, not going very fast now.  The taxi right on his bumper giving chase.

I finally got to the end of that street and took a look to my left.  Lots of cars down there, but couldn’t see either of the two I was looking for.  Not sure where that ended up.  I don’t think the taxi was going to quit.  I don’t think the Jeep was going to quit.  If the police finally got in on it, the chase would be over.  I never did hear sirens in the distance.  Who knows.  What a crazy thing.  I’ll have to keep an eye on the local newspaper to see if the incident gets a mention.  Doubt it.

Well that was my evening walk.  Never did get a picture of anything interesting.  Not much interesting ever happens around here.  There are exceptions occasionally.

Big day tomorrow.  We start the Geometry class with Karina, Josh, Kendra, Tara, Cameron, and Dayton.  Bethie will teach it.  I will be the driver.  Better take something to read.  Although, I haven’t seen the Lambert family in what seems like years.  I’m sure we’ll find it easy to chat for a couple hours if anyone has time to talk.  Coffee and conversation is always a good use of time among missionaries!  Really it is!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Chase

  1. Ken says:

    Mexico querido y bello! Y a veces muy extraño. Enjoy that coffee and conversation! Saludos!

    Like

Leave a Reply

