In the Beginning Was the WORD

One of my boys, and I won’t say which one, but his name starts with the same sound as in “Cameron,” has always had a knack for saying unique things without knowing it.  A couple days ago I was looking for an old post on our blog (I never did find it) and came across a couple of Cameronisms.

1) We were on our way home from a rather worldly 15th birthday party for one of the girls we knew from the church, and Cameron (who would have been age 10) said, “There were people drinking and cigaretting….” (I guess we never really talked about “smoking” so there must be a name for it, right?  If you’re using drink, you’re drinking.  If you’re using cigarettes, you’re….)

2) A couple years before that, while briefly in Dallas, we went to a Kohl’s to find clothes for the next year.  After what seemed like hours, Beth was still not finished trying on the store, so with two little boys and one big one about to die, I took the boys out for a walk to the shoe store.  As we were walking outside, I said, “Man…my hips are killing me.”  Cameron piped up, “Yeah…mine too.  What are hips?  Because if they’re on your feet, that’s what my problem is.”

3) (from this morning…mind you…he’s 16 now) “Yeah, once I was making eggs in one of those nylon pans….”  After nicely making fun of him for not knowing the word “Teflon,” he said, “Well…I knew it ended with ‘lon,’ I just couldn’t remember which ‘lon’ it was.”

I think he’s going to grow up to be just like his dad.  That does sound like me.  I guess neither of us are ever at a loss for words, and sometimes that can lead to some chagrins and grins.

I think one of God’s greatest gifts to all of us is language.  For important reasons like John 1:1.

What else could possibly inform and soothe, and enlighten and amuse like the “wordly” expression of thought in action?  Our God never wastes a word…never speaking as much as a syllable too much or even just coming up one word short.  He gave us one beautiful, sweet, soothing Word that says so much more than we’ll ever be able to embrace throughout eternity.

Jesus.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

