Getting Ready

We’ve been busy for the big event.  Tomorrow’s house church meeting will be a first for our group.  We’re having a baby dedication!  Since I really didn’t come to Mexico with the idea of being a church planter, all these things are new experiences for me.

If you are a merciful type, please feel free to pray for me!  It should be a great experience, but knowing my challenges with Spanish, and expecting over half of our group coming to be special guests for the service, well, there’s a little bit of pressure to not stumble too badly with the language.  Normally, I’m not too concerned.  Our group is patient and gracious about those shortcomings of mine.  So, hopefully, I’ll be understood and clear…clearer than normal!  The gospel will be shared!  I’ll have more prepared notes than usual which will help.

After the dedication service, we’ll enjoy a meal together.  A “pot-luck” dinner for all my Baptist church friends, and a “pot-providence” dinner for all my reformed church friends.  Haha!  (I picked up that term from a Reformed Baptist church years ago…they always pointed out, “We don’t believe in luck.  God provides our daily bread.”  I have to say, I agree with that!)

As you can see from the pics, we’ve got more chairs (I invested about $200 in more folding chairs, so we’ll have them for this event and future events too).  You can also see that Beth was busy burning things on the stove.  We’re used to that.  🙂  Seriously, she was making “rajas con crema” which requires roasting large poblano peppers on an open flame.  The end result is delicious with strips of roasted pepper, corn giblets, ham, and lots of sour cream.  We already tried it on some corn tortillas!

IMG_4289 IMG_4290 IMG_4291 IMG_4292

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

