A Small Find of a Big Thing

Came across this lovely version of the Lord’s Prayer on the wall of a local shop yesterday. The shop is being sold so I guess they aren’t doing too well. Couldn’t resist for about $4. Found a nice empty white wall for it. Amen.

IMG_5424

Since I haven’t blogged for a couple weeks, I should give a short update. I’m toward the end of my third week of NT Greek. Mounce does a good job of explaining everything and so far I’m understanding it. Knowing some Spanish grammar has been a huge help. I’ve noted numerous discussions among classmates who do not understand some things that I find easy to understand because of some understanding of Spanish grammar.

The MK educational co-op days have pretty much dropped the Skype sessions for live sessions which means we are traveling twice on most weeks instead of once. These two days are filled with a lot of juggling of students and class sessions and some students dropping out for online classes, etc. We’ve been leaving the house around 7 a.m. and getting home about 7 p.m. They’re long days. Beth has to drive on Mondays as I have the bulk of my weekly deadlines on Mondays and need to stay home to study and make a video and take a quiz for class.

This upcoming week is something very special. Our mission’s field conference, “family conference,” is being held about 90 minutes from here at a rustic, Mexican water park. We held it there last year and it really went well, except it was a little chilly during Thanksgiving week (which it always is in this region). So, it was decided to move it forward on the calendar and for the first time since we’ve attended these conferences in 2004, it will not be held over Thanksgiving! I hope we’ll find that to be a dual blessing in that we can look forward to having a more traditional Thanksgiving either at home or with our teammates. If I get some good pictures, I’ll post them when I can. I will need to be studying Greek throughout the conference days, so that will be a challenge, but after lunch, there are few things on the agenda that are required. I will have to miss out on some fellowship time though. Maybe I can waterproof my textbook and study while soaking up some thermal water!

Have a great week and if you get some nice fall pics, we’d love to see them! It’s my favorite season of the year with the colors, apples, and pumpkins. Send me some pics and I’ll post ’em as soon as I can. Thanks!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

