Anniversary Day

Today is April 8th which means that today is the one month anniversary of the two heart attacks I suffered (mostly unknowingly at the time). I haven’t quite figured out how I could have a heart attack (or two!) and not know it, but I did know I was in a good bit of pain. I suppose I was on to something by at least identifying the presence of pain. I do have a couple of college degrees, so I guess I’m smart enough to figure out some things. I should have stayed in a Holiday Inn Express the night before.

One month out I really just want to express gratitude in a few different directions.

First and always foremost, I thank our great God who is sovereign over all and is the giver and sustainer of life. I am here for both reasons and I could have just as well been in His glorious presence for the same reasons, but I am content with His will and time for all things. May I continue to become more like Christ and live worthy of the life given to me.

Second, maybe it’s just me, but it is hard to grasp and appreciate the great community of people who love you and care about your well-being during the routine days of life. Being a child of God with a great heavenly family here on earth adds much to the breadth of that community as well as to its depth and genuineness. Thank you for being a part of that community of love. I feel your prayers, and I cannot thank you enough for your love for me/us. (Before I finished writing this post, I was interrupted by lunch and then a phone call from a good friend in Ohio who just wanted to check on how I’m doing and to let me know that he prays for me throughout every day. I couldn’t have scripted a better example.)

Third, this August will be 25 years of marriage for us, and we’ve spent the majority of our years not just united in marriage but united in our vocation and work. Since leaving our teaching jobs in Aurora, IL in June 2001, we’ve been partners in this ministry journey and that has meant being together almost all day, almost every day. It is hard to grasp the closeness this has rooted in our hearts toward and for each other. It can be easy to forget just how close we are, but as we came close to me being uprooted from this world, I can say it has made us both appreciate each other and the gift we have in each other. I cannot thank God enough for Beth. She is not just my wife and partner but now is my life-planner in many ways. She spends over an hour getting my weekly pills in their containers. She tracks my diet and food input and I often find myself asking her, “What else can I eat today?” (aside from vegetables! ha!) It’s the little things, right?

I’m thankful for much more, but 3 points is all that WordPress allows for bloggers.

How am I doing?

I’ve had some pain issues and we haven’t figured out the source of them definitively, but with any doubts about chest pains comes another EKG and every time the EKG looks the same. The medical staff say the EKGs are normal…”for you.” Of course, they’re not normal for an undamaged, healthy heart, but for mine, it’s normal and no cause for alarm there. That’s good to know. I slept really well last night as far as I know. Beth said she slept well, so that means I slept well!

The healing and recovery is slow. There’s not much to say in such a phase, so in other words, “Whatever I said a day or two ago…ditto.”

Thanks again for praying for me/us. We can’t thank you enough for your prayers.

I think I’m going to take a long slow walk to pay the water, electric, and cell phone bills. Maybe my life-planner will go with me. Not sure she can get away. She’s been doing my job of proctoring achievement testing today. Even if she can go with me, she is still learning how to appreciate “old man walks” as my pace is somewhere between “nursing home” and “elderly Publix shopper” (you may need to be from Florida to get that).

This song came to mind today. I wanted to share it with you…it’s from way back from the year we were married. I love the Irish sound to it, and if you don’t appreciate the humor in it, you’ll probably not appreciate my humor either!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

