Some Thoughts I Relate To

About 10 years ago, we hosted a construction work team of about 5 guys who drove down here from Texas to work on the community center project. One of these men who I got to know for the first time on that trip later finished his master’s degree at DTS and joined TEAM as a missionary to Taiwan.

In a recent post on his personal/ministry blog, Joseph Swanson shared some thoughts about things he misses from America in his life as a missionary. He clarifies that it’s not really things missed from the USA per se (as in food or culture) but rather from his life experience in the USA. I found that I relate pretty well to pretty much everything he wrote.

So, in this post of mine, I just want to direct you to Joseph’s post. I think many missionaries (perhaps especially men?) can relate to these thoughts as I do. If you aren’t a missionary yourself and have no thought of becoming one, perhaps you’ll find it helpful to read as a way to better understand a missionary you may know. Hopefully, I am one of them!

Pleas read it at the following link:

Two Complicated Things I Miss From America (this will open in a new browser tab)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Some Thoughts I Relate To

  1. alanbeth says:

    Joseph shared this on his “Secret” Facebook page for those interested in his ministry. Below his post, I shared the following in a comment (you might find it helpful to the context of this topic):

    “Thanks for sharing this. Your thoughts are encouraging as I relate to all of it. I read it to Beth as well. The productivity theme resonates well and I recalled how I first struggled with this during our 4 years of raising support…3 years full-time. I remember somewhere about halfway through that journey how I begged God to show me a new path if He really did not intend for us to be missionaries. Out of contacts, resorting to church “cold-calling,” having moved to a rural area of Ohio (a state I had never lived in before and came knowing no one in the area)…living on our first missionary salary of $643.50 a month with a wife and two kids…and God never answered that prayer. He did answer it but it was an answer of silence. He had already told us what to do. Nothing had changed. I had to trust and continue following and being faithful to Him who had called us into ministry and that initial slough of raising support which became an elaborate time of preparation and faith-building as well as relationship-building. It ended up being a productive time, but through the seemingly endless months of seeing little to nothing to show for my time and effort, God was working too. I will revisit your post for there are some good thoughts there to hold on to. Thanks again.”

    Like

Leave a Reply

