Roof Jumping Ministry

As I joked on Facebook with a friend, my “roof jumping ministry” is kaput.  That’s true.

Perhaps I should explain.  Last Saturday (3 days after knee surgery to remove a portion of torn meniscus and to clean out some cartilage damage under the knee cap), I was ready to get back into the swing of things in community center ministry.  I have a conversational English class on Saturday afternoons and Cameron is helping a bit with the children’s outreach and taking a basketball course with the younger kids while we’re there.

After my English class was finished, I was waiting for the basketball class to finish so I went upstairs to get a photo of the computer class (that’s my English student in that photo).  I also decided to hop down to the slightly lower roof to get some shots of the basketball class from above.  You can see the kids doing some “suicides” and dribbling and shooting drills.  You can also see Tim speaking to one set of parents of three of the boys who came for the basketball class.  This was great to see as we’re attempting to build relationships through these programs so that we can gain a hearing for sharing the Gospel in this area of Mexico that is considered among the least reached area of the Western Hemisphere (according to Operation World…and many first-hand missionary experiences support how difficult this area is for sharing the Good News as well).

Unfortunately, the little “hop” down to the lower roof ended up being a terrible mistake as I inadvertently (but predictably) landed with too much force on the bad knee.  I was not anticipating putting ANY weight on the knee when I made that hop down.  I found out last night that I did some sort of damage to the cartilage under the knee cap but apparently may not have done anything requiring surgery…yet.  The doctor says I may not need surgery to fix whatever I did, but he can’t rule it out just yet.  After some time in physical therapy (beginning Monday), we’ll have a better idea.

Here are the pics I took of the classes and a pic I created to visually show the scene of the…ummm…less than smart decision to get onto the lower roof.

Thanks for praying for the unreached in San Juan del Rio and for the New Image Community Center.  We hope and pray that God will create new images in SJR via making new creations in Christ.  Thanks for praying for a successful recovery from these knee injuries too.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

