No Complaints!

Getting a vehicle repaired can be a traumatic experience anywhere at anytime.  No less here in Mexico if you are forced to try a mechanic/shop that you don’t know.

Praise God that our teammates who live up near the camp have an excellent mechanic/shop in Amealco that does a great job on brakes and suspension.  That’s just what I needed today.

Yesterday, I attempted the first DIY oil change on our Sienna.  Since going to synthetic oil, we don’t have to change it so often and we’ve been in the USA whenever we’ve needed an oil change before.  In the process, I discovered I couldn’t remove the oil drain plug as it was on too tight from the last change.  I realized I was going to have to find a shop to change the oil for me (I have the oil and filter).  Providentially, while I was under there yanking on that drain plug, I noticed a broken CV boot with grease getting passed around the area.  Ahhh…looks like I’ll need something more than an oil change then.

The shop in Amealco is great for this kind of job, and I figured that I also have the disc brake pads for the front and the brake shoes for the rear brakes in-hand, I’ll take those and the oil, and the filter and the air filter, and just have them check everything…and check the alignment too.

Turned out the rear brakes were shot, the front brakes were iffy and a good idea to replace, the brake line then needed bled and refilled, the rotors were turned, the CV boot was a relatively easy repair and the part easy to find (surprise to me), the rear needed aligned, and the air filter and oil change was the least of everything!

My teammate/team leader Brock came over and met me there mid-morning and we went out for a nice breakfast of tacos (carnitas…pork) and Coke.  (only in Mexico…I know!)

We spent a few hours together and had a great time.  After a few hours the work was finished and it was time to “pay the piper” all of $1,020 pesos or about $75.

Woo-hoo!  All that work in the USA would have probably cost me $500 or more.  No complaints here!  One of these days I’m going to visit the radiator/AC shop in Querétaro to check for a possible leak in the radiator system.  Might as well get these things checked here and now before our summer travels in the USA.  It saves us a bundle to spend money at auto shops in Mexico!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to No Complaints!

  1. Ken says:

    Awesome!! I just had that same work done here in el paso. You’re right, you saved a ton! Man I wish we were in a zone like that!

    Like

Leave a Reply

